on reading and writing

Reading how beautifully words are strung together to express emotions so vividly is a wonderful feeling. So wonderful, it sometimes makes me believe that it’s as easy as it may seem.

Just yesterday,  sitting at my desk I grabbed an issue of The Economist and was skimming through it. Articles with equally interesting titles kept me engaged oblivious to everything. By the time I was through with it, my coffee remained untouched and cold.

I am an occasional reader and I don’t really harbor any specific fondness for any type of books. I maybe guilty of being biased towards styles of writing and possibly even subject of a book. I am guessing that I probably have not been able to realize what my preferences are for now. So I pick up books, articles and anything else that may seem of interest to me on an impulse and more often that not, I  enjoy reading what I pick.

Our current positions allow us to test our reading habits. Mine brings me in contact with laws, rules and regulations, media, publications and everything else that could help with making informed decisions at work. I quickly realize how inadequately equipped I am.  I have since realized reading is a matter of habit and by reading a little each day, I find myself climbing gently. Reading allows for better understanding and writing allows for better expression. After all it is the writing of another that I enjoy and my ideas  written in a meaningful way for another to enjoy seems only a natural path of progression.

Blogging to me is an attempt to improve on my ability to express opinions and ideas better so that another can understand and maybe even enjoy understanding my point of view.

I read a little everyday and now I look forward to blogging a bit each day.

About Sangay Khandu

Sangay Khandu is a Member of Parliament, serving his 2nd term representing the people of Gasa Dzongkhag to the National Council.
This entry was posted in Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to on reading and writing

  1. Ashok says:

    Dear Sangay, It is a good thing you have started with your blog. Keep Writing. It would be a good tool for you to connect with the people. Encourage us to participate in the discussions, discourse etc. that is going on… I wish you good luck. Cheers.

    • Dear Ashok,

      It’s a modest attempt at promoting more public discourse and adding a little more “public space” in the sphere of exchange of ideas. I hope I can encourage discussions and engage view points on matters which affect us all. I will give it an honest try and thank you for your kind wishes, take care.

Leave a Reply

